Your Library Card

 
Who can get a card
Anyone who is a resident of Lawrence County or owns property in Lawrence County is eligible for a FREE card.
 
Non-residence fees
Non-residents will be required to pay an annual fee of $35.00.  This covers a card for one year for each member of your family.  
 
How to Get Your Card
Applicants must present a valid government-issued photo ID (drivers license, state ID, etc.), as well as another piece of identification proving Lawrence County residency (checkbook, FOID card, piece of mail, etc.). Anyone under the age of 18 must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian, who must sign the minor’s card and accept responsibility for any fines accrued.  A child must be at least 5 years old and able to write first and last name to obtain a separate card.
 
Borrowing Limits
Patrons may check out the following numbers of items: 5 books, 3 audiobooks, 3 magazines, all for 2 weeks.  Movies may only be checked out on an adult card, and we allow 2 movies per card, and they are checked out for 3 days.
 
Placing Holds
If you wish to obtain an item that is checked out, or that we do not own, you may place a hold request. Items may be borrowed from other libraries in the Illinois Heartland Library System.  These items may be borrowed for periods of time shorter or longer than the normal two weeks, depending on the lending library. Any materials that cannot be obtained through our own system can generally be found elsewhere in the state.  If it is unavailable in Illinois, you may be given the option of paying postage to obtain from an out-of-state library.
 
Renewing Your Borrowed Items
Items may be renewed twice, as long as another patron does not have it on hold. You may visit the library, or call, to renew.
 
Library Fines
The overdue fines are $0.10 per day on books, periodicals, and audios. Movies and inter-library loan materials outside the Heartland System are $1.00 per day, per item.